Rainy Day Feast

October 11, 2007 at 11:33 am | Posted in art, food | 9 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I’ve been seeing a lot of bloggers lately complaining about the weather we’re having here in Paris. “It’s raining again!” they exclaim indignantly. “It’s been raining for weeks!”

Caillebotte

Well, yes. Welcome to Paris.

But don’t worry, it’s not all bad. Because when the mist and fog and drizzle settle in, that just means it’s the perfect weather for indulging in a rich, fatty cassoulet.

Cassoulet

This lovely specimen comes from a little basque restaurant right around the corner from me, but you can find similar dishes all around the city.

Saucisse...

Exact recipes vary, but they generally contain some kind of duck confit, pork, and sausage, all cooked slowly together in a mass of white beans. And fat, of course — lots of it.

So yes, with every passing day, Paris is growing colder and rainier. Be grateful! Without this weather, we’d all be doomed to eat salads every day.

Les Bugnes
11, rue du Pot de Fer 75005
01-43-31-80-82
Metro: Monge
(oh, and if the cassoulet isn’t rib-sticking enough, they also do a lovely pied de cochon.)

9 Comments

  1. Oh cassoulet how I love you. I’ve made several versions and my favorite is still Julia Child’s.

  2. Ugh, Julia’s is so much work. Much easier to go to a restaurant.

  3. Each time I’ve been to Paris, it’s rained. I don’t think sunny weather exists in Paris. 🙂

  4. It’s a rare thing, definitely.

  5. I love the rain. It’s Paris’s best color.

  6. The meal looks like pork and beans or beans and wieners to me in spite of the elegant French name.

    Have you tried the French Canadian poutine. A much loved comfort food, I find too disgusting looking to try. (Fries with cheese curds and gravy).

  7. Poutine is one of the great joys of life! If you, sir, are so quick to judge and reject good food, this is perhaps not the blog for you.

  8. […] I don’t have any other photos of the experience. But perhaps it’s for the best… some people would only have been grossed out by the chicken’s feet, anyway, right? Their loss — […]

  9. Wonderful posting on cassoulet 😉 It truly is a rainy day meal! (but I will gladly eat it anyday!)


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

