Bread and Roses

September 18, 2007 at 1:01 pm | Posted in food | 4 Comments

Last week I joined talented and amusing Adelyn for lunch at Bread and Roses.

I was going to blog about it, but Adelyn beat me to it with a far more coherent analysis and lovelier photos than I could have managed. For the most part, I agree with everything she said; I’d only add that, while the food was perfectly fresh, well thought-out, and tasty, it was overpriced, and the toast was kind of aggressively crunchy. Still, it’s a good place to keep in mind if you are ever visited by people with dietary restrictions, because they have a large vegetarian selection, and I gather they even have some gluten-free dishes, which can be very hard to find in Paris.

And just for fun, here are my (far more amateurish) photos of our luncheon:

Tarama


Tarama and toast.

Cheese and Tomato


Goat cheese and sun-dried tomatoes. And toast.

4 Comments

  1. Ooooo, I still think those are good photos! Of course, what do I know?! Adelyn is definitely one heck of a talented photographer, so I imagine it would be tough to take photos anything like those… But these look great anyway. And I think that sundried-tomato-goat-cheese salad thingie looks amazing…

  2. Thanks, Alice… Guess I was just feeling shy about being compared to a real photographer.

  3. I think the photos are good!! I completely agree – I like the Rose Bakery and think the food is good but the prices are a rip-off. And for me to notice that, it really has to be blatant.

  4. It’s weird, because the Parisist post presented it as good value for money… I wonder if they’ve raised their prices since then.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

