King of Pastrami

May 8, 2007 at 11:54 am | Posted in food | 6 Comments

I think you have a picture of hot pastrami somewhere in your many websites. Where can I get it in Paris? I’m hungry.Thanks for the tip,
DR

I got this brief comment on my About page this morning, and it occurred to me that the answer really deserved its own post.

hot pastrami on rye

This is the hot pastrami in question. I am sad to report, however, that the only place in Paris to get this particular hot pastrami sandwich is in my apartment. Because I made it. And I don’t know of any restaurant or deli in these parts that serves it.

I can tell you where I got my pastrami, though.

pastrami

It came from the Marais, from a deli known, appropriately, as The King of Pastrami. It’s located at number 26, Rue des Rosiers, and the phone number is visible in the photo I linked. The owner is the world’s biggest mensch (seriously, ask me about it sometime), and the pastrami is excellent.

Of course, that only gets you half of the way to your hot pastrami sandwich. For the rest, I recommend hitting the bakery across the street for a pretty decent rye bread and then, when you get home, use this technique to get the pastrami hot, juicy, and perfectly pliable.

hot pastrami

Spread on some mustard (Moutarde a l’Ancienne suits me fine), and you’re good to go. But hey, if any of my readers know a place that will do all the work for you, please let us know in the comments!

6 Comments

  1. Food. Orgasm..Right………Now.

    Thanks, Amy.

  2. My pleasure, Meg.

  3. ohhhhhh… can I make a culinary request? burritos, enchiladas, sopes, anything resembling a real corn tortilla, tomatillos (desperately grasping at straws, here) – have you come across anything good and authentic, Mexican food-wise?

  4. I’m afraid I’ve never found decent Mexican food in Paris, Aralena — although I admit I haven’t exactly tried. I adore Mexican food and all it’s various American iterations, but it just struck me as something the French are *never* going to get.
    _
    That said, I’ve been eager to try Anahuacalli, which is supposed to be quite interesting and authentic, although not cheap.

  5. I never even thought I liked pastami that much…until now. Gotta have some. Thanks!

  6. I saw pastrami, and I had to whwhaaat? and check out what all the hubbub was about. And I’m in NY! When I was in Paris i found a great little bagel/brownie sandwich shop around the Alliance…the French Institute Language school. It was tucked in one of those small rues, and the name was…Bagels and Brownies, or vise versa. Sorry for not being exact but very worth looking into. They had delish bagel sandwiches named after popular cities in the US. I’m sure they had one with pastramies.

    Fun Blog, btw.

    Cheers,
    Ang04


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

