French Nachos

April 26, 2007 at 11:40 am | Posted in food | 8 Comments

I’m back, with my favorite hobby: analyzing French potato chip flavors.

collage

The tomato-basil were all right, but not as intensely flavored as I had hoped. You could taste the basil if you concentrated, but mostly I remember salt. The barbecue flavor was interesting, because I was expecting American-style barbecue, ie some sort of sweet and tangy saucy flavor. However (as indicated by the packaging), these chips were actually infused with the flavor of grilled meats and vegetables. It was pretty tasty.

The olive chips were really… olive-y. More like “fresh” olives than like cured, oil soaked ones, which was unexpected, but good. We ate them with the leftovers of my lamb-bean stew, and it made me wish I’d put olives in the stew.

But the those smoked ham-flavored chips in the bottom right? Those really inspired us. We were snacking on them one day with a chunk of cheap, semi-hard supermarket cheese:

Petit Saint Paulin


And I said, “You know, this cheese and ham and potato combination kinda makes me think of tartiflette. I keep wanting to stick them together.” To which Brumaire replied, “French Nachos!” And the rest, as they say, is history:

French Nachos

Cultural fusion never tasted so good.

8 Comments

  1. My hips curse you vehemently.

  2. Mmmmmm. The smoked ham chips are my favorite, and I am intrigued by your recipe.

    I think French Nachos are going to be the snack of the century!

  3. Snack of the Century! Wow… I’d like to start by thanking the academy.

  4. Those French nachos look so good! I think I’ll need to try that, especially while the husband’s out of town and doesn’t eat pork.

  5. Hey amy! After having been all to lax on my blog-following-up-ness (it’s a word, dammit), I come to your blog and find this! I am inspired. It’s got a certain eurotrashy camp to it that I totally love. I totally have to try the “French nachos.”

    Oh, and I actually love those olive chips to death. I don’t really know why, I just do.

  6. MUAHAHA, i found you! yes, i have been here before! several times!

    great talking to you last night. đŸ™‚

  7. It’s so insane…it must be inspired. đŸ˜‰ What would the French think of it, I wonder??

  8. […] last week I developed a craving for those outstanding smoked ham-flavored potato chips I mentioned before… but nada! No sign of them. So instead I went home with […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

