Warm Up

April 2, 2007 at 11:32 am | Posted in food, vie quotidienne | 4 Comments

Here in Paris, Spring has been a real tease. As early as mid-February, some of the trees started to bud, while others remained desolate and bare. Throughout March, we’ve seen bright, balmy sun-filled days alternate with entire weeks of cold gray drizzle (itself punctuated by occasional bouts of sleet). And last week was so cloudy, it was hard to believe the sun had risen at all.

But yesterday was vibrantly sunny and — dare I say it? — warm. Poisson d’avril? Maybe, but today’s looking lovely as well, and I find myself entertaining the hope that the worst is at last behind us.

I’ve even gone so far as to plant my little city garden:

Too Soon to Tell

Three kinds of basil, parsley, sage, rosemary, thyme, strawberries, and forget-me-nots. I’m not generally much of a green-thumb, but the urban landscape can make anyone yearn for a little piece of nature, especially when that nature will provide me with fresh herbs to cook with.

This just in: first sprouts, as of this morning!

buds!

4 Comments

  1. Oh Amy, I so would love to grow some herbs of my own too! I’ve heard that you can do it on the windowsills here, so I should look into getting myself équipée… You’ve been industrious here, with all of the things necessary to have your own little green garden. I’ve become addicted to coriandre recently, as well as basil in all kinds of Italian-inspired dishes. I started making my own basic tomato sauce with cherry tomatoes, some tomato paste, a garlic clove, and basil leaves. Simple, but really good!

    Enjoy your herb garden!

    (Weather-wise, I’m so fed up with the changing temperatures, you have absolutely no idea! I’ve been fighting a cold of some sort AND allergies for weeks now, and I still don’t see the light at the end of the tunnel…)

  2. Alice, I got started with a trio of basils that came in an easy (and attractive) DIY starter kit. Why not do that? It comes with everything you need, and I’ve seen them at all the big gardening stores.

  3. Oooh I love your little jardin. Very sweet.

  4. Thanks! It’s starting to come along, now.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

