Flunch

December 1, 2006 at 7:13 pm | Posted in food, vie quotidienne | 9 Comments

The whole world over, it is understood that “French restaurant” is synonymous with fine food and elegant ambiance. So then, how does one explain Flunch?

Flunch

Flunch has been around as long as I can remember. It’s a chain catering to families with young children, featuring incredibly cheap (and totally inedible) kid-friendly dishes like steak haché and spaghetti bolognaise. And in typical French style, the name is partially borrowed from an English word, as a kind of disclaimer: at this restaurant, we hold ourselves only to the culinary standards of English speaking nations.

Seriously, who was on the focus panel when they picked this name? Its resemblance to the English noon-time meal aside, can you think of a restaurant name that sounds more like a slang term for vomiting? “Man, last night I had a huge bowl of curry and eight shots of tequila.  Then I totally flunched.”

Gross.

But rather than leave you with that image, I’ll hop on the bandwagon and post a pic of the Christmas lights in my neighborhood.

mouffetard lights

9 Comments

  1. Those lights are divine.

  2. Tyra, they’re even better in real life.

  3. I just got all the LJ feed notifications for your blog today – all in one big lump. (?)

    Apropos of nothing but it looks like I have finally convinced E to travel abroad next year. We’re discussing whether it will be France/Belgium or Denmark/Norway. Both have thier draws.

  4. Yeah, I just noticed that. I have no idea what’s up with that.

  5. The worst is Flunch’s ad campaign: “On va fluncher,” set to that horrid song “On va s’aimer.” Ewww.

  6. Wow, Alison — I had no idea about the ad campaign. That makes it doubly disgusting.

  7. The first time I saw a Flunch, I nearly died laughing. I thought there was no way it wasn’t a play on the lazy american question, “what’s f’lunch?”

    Now, though, all these years later, I doubt it very much. Still, it’s my own personal explanation and I’m sticking to it.

  8. Maitresse, what an excellent interpretation!

  9. […] always teasing the French for their ill-conceived attempts at imitating American food? (see here, here, here, and here.) Well, I figure turn about is fair […]


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

