Halloween Horrors!

November 2, 2006 at 1:22 am | Posted in food | 5 Comments

Look! A hand bloodied from gouging out the eyes of a homicidal maniac!

bloody hand

Or, actually, my hand after distributing raspberries for dessert.

raspberries and cream


All around Paris, street vendors are practically giving away raspberries a E1.50 a box. I don’t think of this as berry season, but who am I to argue with their luscious, finger-staining bounty? I don’t argue, I just pile them on top of sliced quatre quarts cake and crème fraîche, then sprinkle on a bit of sugar.

But wait! The horrors continue… Putrid moldy zombie guts!

zombie guts

Or, in fact, an odd photo of the tartiflette I made last night.

tartiflette


The chilly weather we’ve been seeing has made me yearn for hearty, cheese-laden dishes like this one: potatoes, lardons, onions, and crème fraîche, all baked under big slices of reblochon cheese until the whole thing is a lovely, gooey mess.

But just when you thought it was safe to eat cheese… It’s a hideous, gnarled, disembodied goblin finger, beckoning you to your death!

goblin finger

Alternatively, it’s a weird looking potato.

abundance of raclette


Because we are gluttons for punishment (or, more accurately, just gluttons), we weren’t satisfied with last night’s tartiflette, and decided to go out this afternoon for more cheese. We found a cozy little place nearby offering a raclette à volonté. All you can eat melted cheese? Yes, please.

As you can see from the photo, the restaurant took this quite seriously, insisting on bringing out new plates of hot cheese far faster than we could consume them. And so, for quite possibly the first time in my life, I left unfinished cheese on the table.

Talk about a Halloween Horror.

5 Comments

  1. yum. raclette.

  2. So, you will have a huge fondue savoyarde tonight?

  3. Amanda –
    Ugh, don’t even say it. I just finished up the leftover tartiflette for lunch today, and I can’t even look at another piece of cheese right now.

    I think I’m going to be eating a lot of salad this weekend.

  4. Isn’t it funny how addictive the hot, melted cheese can be — and then all of a sudden how sickening it can become? I know how you feel! I sometimes crave the richest cheese fondue, but then when it’s in front of me, I can only eat so much…

    And as much as I’m dying for something rich tonight, I think I’m resorting to some fish I bought at the market on Wednesday (which I didn’t get to eat before now…) with steamed broccoli. It may sound boring, but I need something healthy for a change!

  5. Good idea, Alice — some fish would be nice. Although knowing me, I’ll just wind up with a sushi extravaganza like last time.

    On second thought, maybe just a little tomato salad for lunch today.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

