L’Omelette Vaincue

October 2, 2006 at 2:22 pm | Posted in food, vie quotidienne, writing | 4 Comments

It’s been over a week and I have not heard back from The Agent Who Kinda (sorta? maybe?) Liked My Stuff. So that’s that, time to move on. On the upside, I don’t have to make the changes she suggested. On the downside, I will surely die unpublished, impoverished, unappreciated, unloved, and alone.

But fie on all that! According to this inspiring article, the best way to deal with rejection and discouragement is to throw yourself into another task, no matter how trivial or mundane, that you know you can fairly well succeed at. He suggests exercise, but honestly — where’s the fun in that? When it comes to short-term gratification and accomplishment, I turn to my kitchen.

This weekend brought me a couple of small victories:

Soupe à l'oignon gratinée

Soupe à l’oignon gratinée!

All right, all right, I made the soup from a mix. And I didn’t have any bowls that could go in the oven, so I made the croutons separately and then added them. The point of this exercise was to set my goals as low as possible, so as to be sure of achieving them! And I did. It was altogether yummy and heartwarming. But this small success only set the stage for what was to come:

Omelette au Fromage

Omelette au Fromage!

Tell me, is that not the most gorgeously French meal you have ever seen? Feel free to be not entirely honest, there. Seriously, though: a well-shaped omelet is pretty hard to pull off, and I’ve never managed it before. They taste good enough, but they always wind up falling apart in the pan and turning into an elaborate and messy plate of scrambled eggs. But this! This is an omelet of champions! (No, not champignons, champions. It’s only Gruyere in there.)

Greatly cheered by this mini-accomplishment, I went out for a walk and stumbled on this adorable advertisement:

egg and beans

Hee!

I don’t know why this amuses me so much… Maybe I just miss British breakfasts.

Great, now I’m all hungry again. I never meant for this to be exclusively a food blog, but I seem to be headed that direction. It must be this confounded neighborhood…

4 Comments

  1. The lighting on those photos is gorgeous! Hilarious ad too.

  2. Thanks!

  3. That ad is so funny! And your food looks so tasty, thank you for sharing.

  4. Thanks for the link to the blog about countering dejection – and congratulations on your omelettes!
    You know, I wasn’t sure I liked that Eurostar ad at first, but now I think its great. I don’t think I’ll be able to look at baked beans the same way ever again!


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

