Happy 4th!

July 5, 2008 at 9:46 pm | Posted in food, spectacle | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , ,

I’m generally opposed to taking photos of fireworks, because no photo will ever even approach how beautiful real fireworks are — most photographic depictions wind up looking like so many celestial koosh balls. So why bother watching them through a camera instead of enjoying them first hand?

But hey, the display I was watching was really long, and I figured one hasty snap wouldn’t ruin my enjoyment all that much. Especially since, as you can tell, I didn’t even bother to hold my hand steady:

Fireworks

So instead of koosh balls, my fireworks look like fibre-optic cables.

I never really experienced July 4th as a kid, because I spent all my summers in Paris, celebrating le quatorze. But the holiday has grown on my in my adulthood. How can I resist any celebration that encourages mass consumption of blinky-sparkly things?

Flashy Things

And hey, it wouldn’t be an American holiday without a little gluttony:

Clam Belly Roll

Fried and fried! This delicious clam belly roll was purchased right on the beach at my favorite Rhode Island clam shack:

Iggy's!

That friendly guy is an anthropomorphized doughboy. Because faux-cannibalism makes everything taste sweeter. Happy Independence Day!

6 Comments

  1. love the fireworks foto!
    and tit for tat on yummy fried foods
    fotos. mmm!

  2. I know, our food photos are pretty similar today… :)

  3. this made me so nostalgic! :) I barely noticed it was the 4th, as I was in Seoul. But I had a Basin Robbins ice cream cone for dessert, just like I did when I was a kid, to celebrate.

  4. Happy 4th! We barbecued on our terrasse. Not sure it’s legal, no pompiers, just a few annoyed looking neighbors and an apartment that now smells like charcoal. Nothing as exciting as fried clams, btw, those fries look so good!

  5. Wow! What were you doing in Korea? Just a pleasure trip?
    .
    Amy — I know most Americans think BBQ is the most traditional food for the fourth, but here in New England we do things a bit differently. ;)

  6. Happy 4th to you!
    I love iggy’s. I went to university in Rhode Island


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

